Fight Spam! Click Here!
Midnight Whispers
Queer as Folk fan fiction - Brian and Justin
>
Reviewer: bksbracelet (Signed) · Date: December 30, 2012 09:12 AM · On: Chapter 3: Writing Review Comments on a Mobile Device

Thanks for this info I am using my ipad these days but if I want to leave a comment I have to do it on my laptop still. I have done all the tips so I hope it works

Author's Response:

Thank you for responding. If you have any problems let me know at nocrashrc@yahoo.com

bob

Reviewer: Taire (Signed) · Date: December 30, 2012 02:46 AM · On: Chapter 3: Writing Review Comments on a Mobile Device

I find this very helpful. It is so much easier to write a review. I find myself giving more reviews since I changed settings. Thank you.

Author's Response:

Thank you for this response. Hopefully more will take your lead.

 

Reviewer: Bryton4ever71 (Signed) · Date: December 07, 2012 12:09 AM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

OK, I have just read all the comments through and I have  something to add esp to all those who "Don't read any uncompleted stories because they're going to get burned when the author drops it."

A: OK every author, every person is different. Some authors have done this (and apparently consistently) but lots DON'T. Check a person's page out first. If they have a list of unfinished works than yeah...you might be in for a heartbreak. If not....give us a shot huh? And give us a bit of credit esp. if we deserve it.

B: Cliffhangers and episodic stories are the backbone of America Well, one of the backbones. Examples are: Any soap opera...and act...most nighttime dramas too. Are you not going to watch Once Upon a Time or (enter favorite series here) just because the entire season is not available? I find it sad that there probably will be a lot of No answers out there to this question.

C: As a writer, I can tell you that most of the novels I write are unplanned. Each story chooses it's own length and tempo. I know this sounds very Zen but it's true. I once went to write a Hardy Boys fanfic short story. It took 7 months to come out and was 17 chapters.

The Little Merman was supposed to be 3-5 chapters long. It was 19 beautiful chapters long and took me 11 months. Did you guys really want to wait for a year and then have a 19 chap novel dumped in front of you?

Ok enough specifics about my work. If you see my page my shortest novel is 6 chaps and the longest, my WIP, is 25. Each one takes months. That's why I post chapters because each one takes me 2 weeks to a month. Good things take time. And sometimes....they choose their time...and length too. Still want to wait for the whole pie?

I guess I can't speak for everybody. There are still going to be writers who  give up the fight and leave a half done work on the dusty trail of of your heart. Some are the opposite and have 3-5 WIPs going at once. (My mind still boggles at this)  But LOTS of us here WON'T and the multiple WIPs DO get done. I've watched them. I WON'T do that. Short or long, I have doggedly finished every story on here and I pledge to always do so. And I challenge any author here worth his/her salt to do the same. Esp. you multiple WIPpersnappers out there...You know who you are!

Raise a fist and yell!

 



Author's Response:

I have nothing to add except to say: "You nailed it". Thank you.

Reviewer: Bryton4ever71 (Signed) · Date: December 06, 2012 10:36 PM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

Thank you! I heartily agree as a writer. My last chapter got 154 hits (at last perusal) and.....1 review. The Little Merman which was my first story on here and readership continues to go up to this day has reached over 30,000 hits. It has.....59 reviews.

I am glad to finally discover the mystery of why there is such a skew in the numbers. All the reviews I do get are lovely. Please don't hesitate to tell me how you feel and for me at least, choose a time when you can tell me or tell me what you'd like or not like.  For me, a brief... loved it or :) doesn't really tell me how you feel and is kind of ...well, a waste.

Thanks for reading. Raise your fist and yell!

Bryton4Ever!



Author's Response:

I've been aware of the mobile devices problem for some time now, and we had to find an answer without changing the software totally. Hopefully this works for us. Thank you for commenting.

Reviewer: Avampiregirl (Signed) · Date: December 04, 2012 01:06 AM · On: Chapter 3: Writing Review Comments on a Mobile Device

Thank you so much for telling me how to fix it so I can give feedback! I read EVERYTHING but only on my phone. I always feel bad when I can't leave a message to the writers. Thanks!

Author's Response:

Thank you for doing it. The writers are crying over here! It means so much  to hear from the readers - words can not say.....

Reviewer: judi (Anonymous) · Date: December 04, 2012 12:25 AM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

I just read this.  I tend to comment when something is exceptional.  I don't feel like criticizing an author is appropriate in most cases because they are taking the time to write and are probably doing their best.  I can understand that feedback would be very motivating but I'm assuming that you are not expecting feedback on every chapter we read.  I've occasionally spent a great deal of thought in my feedback and gotten no response and giving an "attaboy" seems kind of trite.  I do appreciate this website and look forward to updates regularly, although there have been fewer recent stories that have been gripping.  Lots of vampires....not my thing!  Anyway, thanks for keeping it going.  It is such a great escape!



Author's Response:

I understand Judi. Considering how long fandoms usually last, QAF has been on an excellent long run. Already Star Trek and Harry Potter are rapidly dying online. And we have new blood learning how to write. Eventually their stories will become excellent. We have plans to offer fiction writing training. Whispers will be around if we can make some excellent transitions when the time comes.

When I read I do give chapter comments, short and sweet. As a writer, I know what it means to get them. Writers live for such moments.

Thank you for commenting.

Reviewer: Pat (Anonymous) · Date: December 03, 2012 07:32 PM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

I never read or review a fic until it is finished.  I have been stung too many times by writers who decide after 20 or 25 chapters that they are no longer interested in the fandom and just quit.

If the writers here need praise after every chapter they write, they have a problem.



Author's Response:

Most writers finish their stories especially if they get feedback from readers on the way. Since you have never tried to write fan fiction (my guess), your understanding of the dynamics between writers and readers is a problem - for you. You're missing out on a ton of fun. If you want to wait until a story is completed to read and review, go for it. That is the reading habit of the founder of this website who like you - has been burned by incomplete abandoned stories.

You can see if a writer is the type to finish their work by checking their profile page for finished stories. They either finish their WIPs, or they don't. Sometimes health is an issue as well. We're not as young as we once were.

Thank you for commenting.

 

 

Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2012 04:33 AM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

I forgot. I've been having problems with my computer and because of that my reviews would disappear at times. My job also has blocked signals to certain websites and I have been unable to review during my breaks. I have found that downloading to my Nook and reviewing from there at home has helped. will also make it a point to review at least two stories a day. I'll find some sleep somehow, LOL.

Author's Response:

Try the instructions in the new chapter here (3), and see it that works for you.

Reviewer: Patty (Anonymous) · Date: December 03, 2012 03:05 AM · On: Chapter 3: Writing Review Comments on a Mobile Device

Its gotten to a point that I hardly read here at all. Most of the authors I follow post over on LJ still and it is easier to read and comment over ther from my Nook.

And I don't have to deal with the security code thing which I can never see correctly anyway.

Author's Response:

If you become a member, the security code requirement goes away. And follow the instructions in the latest chapter (3) for how to review here on mobile devices.

Reviewer: no sleep (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2012 03:00 AM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

Reading fanfiction is a passion of mine. I am so grateful that people take the time to write something so entertaining and for free. I feel a review is the least I can do, but sadly between a busier work schedule and issues with my computer I have gotten behind in reading and reviewing. I will work harder to rectify that problem.

I also wanted to thank you for taking your time and effort to keep QAF and this site alive.

Sandra:)

Author's Response:

I know the writers would greatly appreciate hearing from you and let me know if you have any problems.

Reviewer: snow (Signed) · Date: December 03, 2012 02:17 AM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

It worked! Yay!

Author's Response:

Sometimes even I get lucky with code changes :)

Reviewer: jules2009 (Signed) · Date: February 05, 2012 05:33 PM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

You are absolutely right. The only reason I haven´t given feedback is this problem, but now I will start again :-)



Author's Response:

Chapter Three has the cure. Thank you!

Reviewer: Anno53 (Signed) · Date: January 29, 2012 02:09 AM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

I'm glad you gave info on how to fix this, because I read a lot of fics on this site, but I would write a comment ... submit it ... and the system would reject the comment. I finally stopped trying.

Author's Response:

The instructions in chapter 3 will fix this. Thank you.

Reviewer: Bigdogz09 (Signed) · Date: January 28, 2012 08:16 PM · On: Chapter 2: Second Announcement about Blue Ribbion Awards

I have many readers that don't comment and its very frustrating.  I've been trying to placate myself with the readership tally but it's just so disheartening.  Why would someone go through all of the trouble to read all the chapters of a completed or WIP fic and not leave a comment?  I couldn't do it as a reader, I have to leave a comment, its a common courtesy.

If you read, you really should leave a comment, at least one.  It keeps the site and community alive and thriving.  I don't understand why this is such a hard thing to do or why the concept would draw protests from readers.

Being ANON is fine, but this doesn't excuse people from being considerate.  Leave a bloody comment if you read.  Also, for people that read and don't enjoy it, comment in the same fashion as you would in polite conversation. 

It is frustrating as a writer.  You want to post where you will be read AND receive comments.  It's quite an effort to write a fic and sometimes a head-ache to post (technology - me not good, ugh), but then you get nothing in return for your efforts.  So, you try to find places that will give you the support of readers AND commentors.

It's so taxing, having to encourage and request comments.  It really, really hurts to see how much people don't seem to 'get it' and ignore the consequences of their lack of support.  It seems like the majority of the readers are this way, they have the same attitude as the Anonymous commentor - 'so what, who cares, stop bellyaching, don't post, etc.'  Wow, that is just so ugly to read. 

So the consequences are happening - updates are decreasing, WIPs are abandoned, and posting of fic are decreasing.  There are about 4 good sites that have dried up from lack of writer activity - all because commentors didn't provide support.  Then you read comments here and there of people asking why.   Well, I guess it doesn't matter, we should all just stop bellyaching, shouldn't we, because it doesn't matter, does it? 

It takes a fandom supporting its own to keep it alive.

Love and best wishes to all.

Laura



Author's Response:

Please forgive my late response. I've had major health issues Laura.

We had significant technical problems blocking comments by mobile devices. I've got a way around that in chapter 3. Hopefully our people with mobiles will do the directions and start commenting.

And Whispers will live on no matter what. We have plans to keep this website alive.

Reviewer: Kathy (Anonymous) · Date: January 28, 2012 03:16 PM · On: Chapter 2: Second Announcement about Blue Ribbion Awards

Good to hear. There are a few blue ribbon stories that I have been reading for well over 12 months. I love to see the occasional update, but given the time lapse between posting I always have to re-read earlier chapters to recall the story.

I love this site and have been reading for as long as I can remember. It'd be sad to see this site fold, too.

K



Author's Response:

I don't see this site going down on my watch :)

Reviewer: Kathy (Anonymous) · Date: January 28, 2012 03:10 PM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

I've commented in the past, but only on completed stories. I have stopped reading stories that are not complete as there is nothing worse for me than no end or outcome after I have given my time to read chapters and have waited for months and sometimes years to read the whole story. So if you want comments, please complete the stories. Oh, and use grammar check, I can live with the spelling mistakes.

K



Author's Response:

Good advice Kathy

Reviewer: Jane (Anonymous) · Date: January 27, 2012 08:13 PM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

I am an odd duck and will not read any story flagged as a WIP (work in progress) . I get very attached to many, many of the stories and when they are abandoned it hurts. I find myself trying to complete the story but I;m a reader not a writer. God, I would love to be able to write that the authors here.
So getting back, I read only completed stories - I can't review what I don't read, so for those authurs who never finish a story they will never get a review from me.
Maybe if these author's would plan smaller stories and use the idea of sequels, then I could read and review.

This was meant as a suggestion that would benefit everyone.

I once sent a private request to one the authors pointing that she had 45 stories all incomplete. And her response was "that;s the way I write". It's a shame because I never read one of them

Author's Response:

i beiieve we all know who you are referring to and I too once gently suggested she change her style. The sh!t storm she started about me over on another website was classic. I never wrote to her again. And for three years I've been an admin, she hasn't finished one of those 45 odd stories. Sad indeed since she hurt her readers, and the fandom. Most of our people are way better.

Reviewer: wordshipper (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2012 05:26 PM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

I agree completely with Stauneage!



Author's Response:

me too

Reviewer: Stauneauge (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2012 04:12 PM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

Since the last time you asked us readers to please review more to thank the writers for their work, I'm glad to say I'm better in reviewing, though I have to admit that I review smore to tories of authors, who actually reply to it like Predec2. In my opinion it is a courtesy to the reviewers, too. And to read the history of reviewers and her replys at her stories is like reading a second story and is fun to me. And I'm just not comfortable to just leave a ":-)" behind, sorry.



Author's Response:

Due to health issues at the time I failed to catch all these comments! My bad!

I agree with you totally, return comments from the authors are very important, realize some of us may have serious reasons to be tardy at times.

Reviewer: sfscarlet (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2012 04:56 AM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

As a writer, I do like to read reviews and that is how I know if the story is meeting my audience's needs.  Yes, I look at my reader count and that is cool, but a short :-) is great too.  Just the fact that someone took the time to write something means a lot.  I try most times to leave some kind of comment.  I often don't have as much time to read as I used to so often I read a story once it is finished.  Even then, I try to leave a comment, but not always. 

 

Please, if you read and enjoyed a simple :-) or I enjoyed this is great.



Author's Response:

Thank you for commenting sfscarlet.

Reviewer: mandagrammy (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2012 04:49 AM · On: Chapter 2: Second Announcement about Blue Ribbion Awards

One of the things, yet by far not the only thing, that I love about MW is that we are kept up to date on the news of what's going on with the site.  As a writer of two WIP's, one of which I am embarrassed to say that I have not been able to update in far, far too many months (although not a full year), I think you are doing the right thing for the benefit of both readers and writers.  

 

And while I'm at it, I would like to throw in my two cents worth about writers who don't finish...or take a long time to finish...their full length stories.  As amateur novelists, we actually created our own disadvantage over the professionals.  By posting our work chapter by chapter rather than as a completed unit as the pros do we run into the problem of a delayed WIP for a wide variety of reasons, some of which are totally out of our control and some a simple case of a dry spell in inspiration.

 

I think it is very important for the readers who are so frustrated by a delay in WIP's that it makes them angry to make it a rule that they will not read a story until it is marked 'complete'.  This will save on their nerves.  For other readers, I think it is important to look at a writer's history to get a clue as to whether they'll never finish a work or will eventually do so even if it takes a long time and then decide whether to begin reading it before it is completed.  The choice is most definitely each individual readers to make for themselves.  As a writer, I can only speak for myself but I only ask that the readers will give us a little slack.  First of all, I doubt if many writers have revealed all their reasons why it is taking so long with their stories and I know that no writer is doing it on purpose just to frustrate or anger their readers.  We write out of love, not to pull a joke on the readers.

 

Okay, I'm not so sure that was worth two cents of your time to read, but thank you for letting me have my say.  My lord, how I love this site.  Hugs, Grammy



Author's Response:

You know how much we love you too, Grammy. Our website is richer with your work here.

I agree with you totally. Elsa rarely reads a story until it's completed. But many of us love new stuff, so checking to see if a writer has a habit of finishing their work is a must before trusting a WIP by them. And I alway fear anyone with too many WIPs going on at the same time.

I have two going now and wouldn't dare try to do more than that, and they are nearly finished anyway so readers have the most of the stories already - but that's me.

Sadly some of our best writers have not updated in a very long time and it does hurt the readers who are invested in those stories. And over time you forget what is happening if the updates are far apart.

Thanks Grammy, and your words are worth far more than 2 cents of our time - any time!

Reviewer: Suse (Anonymous) · Date: January 27, 2012 03:19 AM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

I am glad that you made mention of just a simple "Loved it" would be helpful. Many times I have loved reading but felt like those simple comments wouldn't be enough, so I shy away from commenting at all. There is so much talent on this board it would be very sad to see it fall apart. The other issue is that often I download the story to my Kindle and then I forget to go in and Review when finsihed. I will in the future try to correct that. We all like to be recognized for our efforts.



Author's Response:

Hopefully if you turn off the use tinyMCE editor option in Account Info > Edit Preferences - you can leave reviews from your Kindle too. Thanks for commenting Suse.

Reviewer: Jackie Mag (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2012 01:58 AM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

:)



Author's Response:

:D

Reviewer: Reader (Anonymous) · Date: January 27, 2012 01:33 AM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

I am just a reader on this site but I would like to commend all your writers on the great effort that they put in their pieces of work. All of their contributions are exceptional and unique in their own way.

They have given the QAF characters more dimensions than was depicted on the show. Infact, although the actors and actresses provided a physical impression, the writers on this site have developed these character that when I see them in other shows I no longer identify them by their QAF names. This is testimony of all your writers' great talent.

I read alot of the works, however, I don't always review because sometimes I just beyond words and I really don't know what to say.That does not mean that I did not appreciate the writers efforts. Believe me I do!

These works have provided me with an avenue to get away from real life; its like a break from everything although I am still in the same place - a mental break. Thank you the writers and administration of Midnight Whispers!

 



Author's Response:

Long reviews are great; however, so are short mentions of "loved it" or even a quick :) face to say thanks. It the thought that counts. Thank you for commenting.

Reviewer: samcdee (Signed) · Date: January 27, 2012 01:13 AM · On: Chapter 1: What this is all about

I must admit I am also a culprit of not writing reviews as often as I should.  I'll try to do better.

Also, for all those readers out there who don't have an account with MW.  I am also only a reader and I created an account years ago.  I did this mainly because it allows me to save my favorite stories and authors.  But the additional benefit is easy submission of reviews.

 



Author's Response:

We were all lurkers in the beginning of finding fan fiction. And yes, no security codes required for members and it's easy to join us.

Thank you for your comments samcdee.

Submit a Review