Fight Spam! Click Here!
Midnight Whispers
Queer as Folk fan fiction - Brian and Justin
>
Reviewer: jax001993 (Signed) · Date: June 01, 2013 09:17 PM · On: Friday... Three weeks later.

Hey, I know you havent updated this story in awhile and most likely wont anytime soon, but i really liked this story!

Reviewer: kellydeer (Signed) · Date: May 29, 2013 01:45 AM · On: Prologue

C'mon, where did you go???

You are too gifted a writer to stop now!

Reviewer: lyn (Anonymous) · Date: May 27, 2013 11:09 AM · On: Friday... Three weeks later.

I loved this story I came accros it again and reread it, please it looks like its just about done, please finish it, we all know they are going to get together, 

pretty please with sugar on top....

its just too good to leave unfinished... 

pretty pretty please.... 

 

:)

no presure honestly :)

Reviewer: Flossee (Signed) · Date: March 04, 2013 03:33 AM · On: Friday... Three weeks later.

A practice date where Alex says “Let’s talk about your mother” that’s just too funny. LOL Please update this as soon as humanly possible.

Cheers

Reviewer: Al (Anonymous) · Date: February 11, 2013 02:42 AM · On: Prologue

Please finish this story. I have been waiting and waiting for it to be done.

Reviewer: Tiffany (Anonymous) · Date: November 02, 2012 01:38 AM · On: Friday... Three weeks later.

Love this story can't wait to see what happens nexted

Reviewer: deb (Anonymous) · Date: August 01, 2012 06:23 PM · On: Friday... Three weeks later.

your story is wonderful.  more please.  thanks



Author's Response:

Thank you, Deb! I'm diligently working on the next update and hope to post it soon.

Cheers,

Vin

 

Reviewer: NMS (Anonymous) · Date: July 19, 2012 12:41 AM · On: Friday... Three weeks later.

Well, well, well.... and how Brian has matured in HIS relationship with Justin! That's some progress! Finally! Finally has he realized that he loves his Sunshine. Loves so much that he is capable to share his turmoil with someone. A very interesting dialogue. And natural, despite the subject. You write so damn well, Vin! Enjoyable reading.



Author's Response:

Thank you for an amazing review and a wonderful complement. It means a lot to me. I'll try to update this as soon as I can.

Hugs & cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: NMS (Anonymous) · Date: July 19, 2012 12:36 AM · On: Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005...Part II

I loved it that Justin has matured in everything, especially in his relationship with Brian- he's not "subservient" anymore. Loved the chapter, period. Thank you, Vin.



Author's Response:

Thank you. I had hoped that both characters showed some progression and growth. I am happy to have succeeded.

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: NMS (Anonymous) · Date: July 06, 2012 02:07 AM · On: Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005...Part I

This chapter is FANTASTIC!!! Rich in event and emotions.I was keeping my breath the whole time, praying the two lovers will finally meet and be happy- at least on "their" special day. Thanks, Vin!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I am so happy you liked this chapter.

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: DavidR (Signed) · Date: July 05, 2012 01:47 AM · On: Friday... Three weeks later.

     That was a terrific chapter and wonderful conversation between Brian and Alex. There were so much said, but what I remember most is that line about ‘relationships’.

             It doesn’t have to be defined by hetero-normative 

            standards, or by how your parents, friends, family, or

             anyone else define it.”

     I hope Brian gets that, though his reply is basically that the way things seemed to be defined has worked for him.  As the song goes – “then along came Justin.”  Ok, maybe that is not the title of a song – but Alex made that point. 

     Again, thanks for this chapter.

     DavidR

 

 

 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, David. I'm so glad you liked the bit between Brian and Alex. I was uncertain how well this chapter would turn out within the bigger framework of the story. If it didn't work, I would have had to throw it out, probably, but since it was well received and seems to be leading me in a good direction, I'll happily keep it.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: NMS (Anonymous) · Date: July 04, 2012 08:30 PM · On: Monday, August 23rd, 2004

As much as I had anticipated the meetings of two lovers in Costa Rica, I was NOT disappointed at their failure to meet, because the chapter was absolutely CAPTIVATING!!! Great job, Vin!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much. I am thrilled you enjoyed the chapter even though the boys weren't together.

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: NMS (Anonymous) · Date: July 04, 2012 07:29 PM · On: Saturday, August 23rd, 2003

Oh, there's quite significant progression in Brian's feelings toward his Sunshine. He doesn't care to be always "dominant" with him. He craves to spend time with him- as much as possible, to wake up together, etc., etc. Wow. That's love, my friends, even if he doesn't yet think of it as such.

Thanks for taking me to Russia and Paris, Vin. I really enjoyed my vicarious trip to both places. Well done!

I loved this yet another accidental meeting of the two lovers and can't wait to read about their next one- "next year" - thanks, Vin.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your lovely words, NMS! I'm so happy you liked my descriptions of Russia and Paris.

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: NMS (Anonymous) · Date: July 04, 2012 06:28 PM · On: Friday, August 23rd, 2002

A beeeaaauuutifully written piece!

First of all, the dancing scene is so superb (my all senses were engaged) that I wanted to join that crowd!

Secondly, you showed very well the transformation in Brian's opinion of Justin: he now sees him not just a pretty face and a good fuck, but a bright, intelligent, talented, interesting, driven, ambitious young man who not only knows what he wants in life but strives to achieve his goals. Now, not only Justin's pretty face and sunny smile give Brian a hard on, but all those qualities, as well as his passion for his art. Good job, Vin!

Thirdly, Kirill's "understanding" of Justin's sexual orientation is based maily on the fact that it's too close to home (because of his brother's homosexuality), which is the case with lots of people, and which is, sadly, the truth.

I enjoyed the chapter. Thanks, Vin.



Author's Response:

Thank you, NMS, for a lovely review. I am so glad you liked this chapter and saw that Brian is chaning, albeit slowly.

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: NMS (Anonymous) · Date: July 04, 2012 05:25 PM · On: Thursday, August 23rd, 2001

This story made my pulse quicken while reading about Justin and Dafne's exploration of Europe - I've BEEN to all those fantastic places, and thanks to you, Vin (or rather these two friends :), I visited them once again (I even felt like "tasting" Sarche Torte in Vienna again - mmm... delicious!). And Justin's meeting with Brian was just as delicious :). Thanks, Vin



Author's Response:

Thanks for a lovely review, NMS! It was fun reliving my own travels in Europe through Justin and Daphne's adventure. As for B/J's meeting in a London hotel...well, I'll have to agree, it couldn't have been anything but yummy! LOL.

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: BigPaw (Signed) · Date: July 03, 2012 02:12 AM · On: Friday... Three weeks later.

I think it's perfect. I hope you get some relief from this horrible weather.
Lori

Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Lori! Glad you liked it.

As for the weather - everything seems to be back to normal now, thank God.

Thanks again.

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: 4depthoflove (Signed) · Date: July 02, 2012 08:56 PM · On: Friday... Three weeks later.

well V in...you have me at a crossroads

while I hate that you have been so uncomfortable and inconvenienced, and would never make light of that in any way - I would be hard pressed to wish away whatever brought on this absolutely adorable chapter!

the gangs reaction was a hoot - once again Brian is both typically BRian and yet so very OOC  - and this was an ingenious way to introduce Alex and bridge the gap for the boys to move foward

I really really love it - and can't wait for more!

loving life,

Charle

 



Author's Response:

Oh, Charle! I am so very happy you liked this chapter. As DavidR mentioned below it is turning into a bit of a comedy. I am glad it didn't take away from the overall mood, for lack of a better term, of the story as a whole. I do enjoy writing funny scenes, though, especially those involving the gang. Sometimes those scenes work out better than others.

Again, thank you for reading and reviewing!

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: 4depthoflove (Signed) · Date: July 02, 2012 08:32 PM · On: Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005...Part II

great chapter - I love that Brian still retains a lot of his...unique spark...but sees to be opening up to the possibility that there is something else here which allows him to act so OOC

looking forward to more

Charle



Author's Response:

Hi Charle!

I'm so happy you liked this chapter. I realize that Brian's character is straying far from canon here... but it's an AU so it can totally happen! That's my story and I'm sticking to it. :) Actually, if you count post-Babylon-bombing season 5, Brian was acting way OOC for a couple of episodes. So, in a way, OOC Brian is actualy canon sanctioned. Oh, why the hell am I trying to explain myself - IT'S FANFICTION! Thank God for that. LOL!

In any case, I'm glad you think that some of Brian's "charms" are still there with him. As much as I love schmoopy Brian & Justin, and Brian being ridiculously romantic, I do love me some sarcastic/snarky/occasionally harsh Brian Kinney. I'll do my best not to lose the Brian we all know and love completely, but I don't promise anything. The end might just devolve into total schmoop, fair warning.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: DavidR (Signed) · Date: July 02, 2012 05:28 PM · On: Friday... Three weeks later.

     Thanks for the chapter.  It sort of gave us a good hint


as to where this story could be going.



     It is turning out to be part comedy.  Ted and Michael


spitting out their food as Brian talked about possible


dating, and to top it off, Deb dropping her trey of food,


now concerned that the cancer has returned.  Later,


when Alex thought:


                “This is equivalent to capturing Big Foot or making


                  first contact with an intelligent alien life-form!”


Great line, it was really very funny.


     Um, well I hate to be picky – but – empiricist?  Geeez, I


had to stop reading and look that word up.  I read about


it and still don’t quite understand it.  That was the first


time I have ever encounter that word, and it may just be


last time. (Just trying to  add my own humor. ( think?)


      Again, thanks for the chapter, it was fun to read.


 DavidR


 



Author's Response:

Hi, David!

Thanks for an awesome review as usual. I appreciate you reading AND commenting on my stories very, very much!

Regarding some of my...ahem...unusual word choices in this chapter. Well, I did warn everyone that this was a weird one. LOL! I'll do my best to explain how a couple of words found their way in here. I PROMISE you I was not trying to be too smart for my britches, as it were.

First, empiricist (if you are reading my response, then I'm sorry for putting you through it again. Kidding!) - that one popped into my head and ended up in the chapter for two reasons. One - I was interested in psychology as a field of study in college for about 5 minutes, so I took Psychology 101 my freshman year as one of the electives. Within 2 (yes, two!) weeks I was absolutely certain this was NOT the field for me, but for reasons I no longer remember I couldn't drop the class and had to endure 3 more months of a subject I truly didn't care for. The actual professor was an all right guy, but his TA (it was one of those auditorium classes with 150 + students, so he actually required a TA) was a pompous ass of a doctoral student who fancied himself to be the next Freud and referred to himself as an empiricist REPEATEDLY. So, let's just say he made an impression and not a very good one, I might add. More then 10 years after taking that class I pity the patients that end up having this "God's gift to Psychology" as their shrink every time I hear or read that word anywhere. Which brings me to the second reason that word came to mind when writing that scene - NPR. I just happened to hear the word used on the radio last week (we have our clock radio tuned to an NPR station because my hubby likes to wake up to death/mayhem and weird info, aka THE NEWS, rather than music).

Now, don't get me wrong, I DON'T think that Alex is a self-important a-hole like my old TA and I wasn't trying to portray him as such. Alex Wilder is a psychologist/psychiatrist (can't remember exactly which one he was in canon), which immediately brought those two things to mind and the word sort of wrote itself. Despite my personal encounters with psychologists in that Psych class, I've always thought that really good psychologists/psychiatrists would have to be excellent observers of human nature and experience at their core; so when writing the scene the word seemed to fit. On the other hand, I probably should've just used the word "scientist". Oh, well...

Anyway, the second word not usually used in regular conversation that jumped out at me (I had to re-read the chapter and look at it from a different perspective after a couple of comments, not just yours) was amorphous. That one I've actually heard used a couple of times in museums to describe abstract art - "amorphous shapes", etc, etc. Since Justin is an artist who sometimes does abstract art (as per canon), and Brian & Justin's relationship in my story as well as in canon was described as undefined, the word sort of seemed to fit as well.

Again, I wasn't trying to appear "smart" or be pretentious with my word usage, it just sort of happend that way while I was hiding away from the heat in various public places, doing my best to focus on writing and not on the fact that my brain and body felt totally baked. You've read my other stories, David, and if you remember them, you know that my writing is normally pretty simple. I'll attribute this chapter to nothing but a heat/power outage enduced fluke. LOL!

OK, my War and Peace sized response is done! Whew! I just wanted to say thank you, again, for reading, reviewing, enjoying and finding the humor in this story of mine. I hope you'll read it until the end.

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: Tagsit (Signed) · Date: July 02, 2012 05:26 PM · On: Friday... Three weeks later.

Loved this chapter - glad your brain got overheated just this once. Seeing Brian's vulnerable side is lovely. I also know it's hard to write without the character coming off sappy. You did beautifully. TAG

Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Tag! I am really glad you enjoyed the chapter, though it was on the unusual side.

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: Tagsit (Signed) · Date: July 02, 2012 05:08 PM · On: Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005...Part II

Oh so ridiculously romantic - still loving this! TAG

Author's Response:

I was worried that it might be a bit too much romance, but so far everyone has responded well to this chapter, which makes me so, so happy. I am very glad you enjoyed it too.

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: Tagsit (Signed) · Date: July 02, 2012 04:29 PM · On: Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005...Part I

I can't tell you how wonderful this story is - I'm hooked on it - it's the first thing to pull me away from writing my own story in days. God it's so romantic! More please! TAG

Author's Response:

I love your stories! So the fact that mine pulled you away from your own writing is a huge complement. Thank you!

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: Tagsit (Signed) · Date: July 02, 2012 03:41 PM · On: Monday, August 23rd, 2004

Utterly engaging & so sweet, but I actually have tears in my eyes too. TAG

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I didn't mean to make anyone tear up, but it means a lot to me that you were so affected.

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: Tagsit (Signed) · Date: July 02, 2012 02:51 PM · On: Saturday, August 23rd, 2003

I've decided you are either a travel agent in real life or else a trust fund baby who spends you're time jetting around the world & writing fanfic as a hobby! You're descriptions of these exotic locales are right on - at least for the places I've been. You've made me really want to see Russia now too! Great chapter - didn't mind the length since it was so intriguing. Oh, and I love topsy!Justin scenes - write all you like of that! TAG

Author's Response:

LOL! Unfortunately, I am neither a travel agent nor a trust fund baby. However, I was lucky enough to spend one year as an exchange student in France while in college, where I took every opportunity possible to travel around Europe. I've been everywhere I described except for Amsterdam and Ibiza. Unfortunately, I didn't get the opportunity to visit those two places, while a few of my fellow exchange students did, which is where I got some of my descriptions (others I just made up, like the Ibiza resort & dance club).

As for Russia, I grew up there. My mother also worked two summers on a cruise line for foreign tourists that went from Moscow to St.Petersburgh and back (just like I described) and I was lucky enough to spend the second summer on the ship with her, practicing my English.

As for Toppy!Justin scenes... you already know my personal veiw on Toppy!Justin from my authors note at the end of the chapter, so I'll leave it at that. As for the "scene" itself, I wish I wrote better sex scenes, but I do what I can... which ends up being very vague, sadly. Oh, well.

Glad you enjoyed it overall!

Cheers,

Vin

Reviewer: Predec2 (Signed) · Date: July 02, 2012 12:04 PM · On: Friday... Three weeks later.

Hi, Vin!  First of all, you have my sympathies regarding the terrible storms and the power going out.  We experienced a little of that Friday night, but thankfully no power outtages, although back in 2008 we were without power for a week in September, so I certainly know what it feels like.  Nothing like the oppressive heat and humidity that the mid-Atlantic and midwest (our state included) has endured lately, though, and at least we had air conditioning this time.  I'm glad to hear that your power has been restored now, however.

And now about the chapter - I don't know about the rest of your readers, but I thought this was actually one of if not the best chapter you have written so far, even though it did not contain any direct B/J action.  The writing for each character was spot on, including Debbie in the diner, and was soooo well written!  The vocabulary you used was amazing, and the talk between Brian and Alex was extremely well-constructed, logical, and very believable.  Sure you weren't a psychologist in a previous life?:) 

I'm actually in awe of your gifted writing in this chapter; I may have to go back and rewrite my next updates now to keep up with your level of writing here, my friend, seriously!

This story is a blue-ribbon winner, at least IMHO, but alas, I do not have that power myself.  But consider yourself an 'imaginary' winner for the time being, anyway!  I'm looking forward to Brian's eventual confession to his 'love.'  Thanks for this amazing story, Vin.  *Hugs*  ~Kim



Author's Response:

Hi, Kim!

Thank you for the sympathies. It was my first experience with a power outage here in the US (although I could tell you stories about interesting things that happend in Russia when I was a kid) and it was "exciting" to say the least. I am beyond ecstatic that we got our power back on last night. My mother, who's also in Virginia, still doesn't have power yet and from what my parents have heard there's a possibility that their area will be without power for the rest of the week. Thankfully, that's just a concervative estimate and I truly hope they'll get their power sooner. The worst part is that I can't have them stay with me because my apartment doesn't allow dogs (or any pets) and they have two of them. At least their basement is naturally cool and is actually comfotable enough to sleep in, so they are OK for the time being. At least none of us got hurt, unlike some people... so, thank God for that. 

Anyway, off the depressing shit and onto something a bit fun - your awesome (as always) review of my latest chapter. I am truly glad you enjoyed it, Kim, though it was a bit of a departure for me writing-wise... Thank you very much for complementing my writing here, but I must admit that this REALLY WAS a fluke of a chapter, vocabulary choices included. I've already written a thesis-sized explanation (LOL) for a couple of the words in my response to DavidR, so please see above. Even though I do have an actual explanation for why certain words were used, I promise you I wasn't intentionally trying to find obscure terminology - it all sort of happend on its own, weirdly enough.

That being said, it does make me super happy that you consider this story "blue-ribbon" worthy. Whether or not that happens in reality, I'm very flattered by your compliment and will gladly be an "imaginary" winner.

 

Cheers,

Vin

Submit a Review